Review: “How To Kill A Vampire” By Liisa Ladouceur


Via NetGalley, I was furnished a copy of this book by ECW Press for the purposes of reading and reviewing it. Although it was provided at no cost to me, I am under no obligation to provide a positive review.

Let me be completely honest: I love a good vampire story or flick. Yeah, I’m not too keen on the sparkly, angst-filled type, but for the most part I like everything else. Heck, when my twenty year-old was in NICU, I read several of the Fred Saberhagen vampire novels out loud to him.

I have several encyclopedias of vampiric lore, so I wasn’t sure what new material this book might present. I reality, it didn’t. However, it did do a wonderful job of encapsulating one specific subset of information, as the title suggests: how do you kill a vampire and who has been responsible for the grisly task throughout the centuries?

The author does a great job of listing the various methods of disposing of suspected vampires, as detailed in folklore, then making comparisons and contrasts with literature and film through the years.

She also includes a list of the most famous vampire slayers, noting their preferred method(s) of eliminating the undead, as well as why they are so well-known.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The author certainly has done her research, and this comes across as a scholarly offering with just the right amount of humor.

Rating: 5 stars (out of 5)

Leave a Reply

