Review: “God Is Disappointed In You” By Mark Russell & Shannon Wheeler


Via NetGalley, Top Shelf Productions supplied me with a copy of this eGalley for the purposes of reading and reviewing it. While it was provided at no cost to me, I am under no obligation to give a positive review.

I was raised Catholic. There. It’s out in the open. Judge me now or judge me later.

Catholics don’t usually have Vacation Bible School, so I invariably went with friends to whatever VBS they were attending that week. It was a surefire way for my parents to keep my brother and I out of trouble. Well, you can’t blame them for trying.

I remember that during one of them there was a contest to memorize scriptures. I have always had outstanding recall, so this was right up my alley. Add in that the first place prize was a one pound bag of peanut M&Ms, and I had all the motivation I needed. I won that contest easily. Good thing I don’t have a peanut allergy. And that bag of M&Ms was gone within the hour when I got home. My stomach still hurts.

This book had no chocolate and candy shell-covered nuts as a reward at the end, but it was certainly equally as fun. In this hilarious offering, the authors (one the writer, the other the artist) take each book of the Bible (as I type this, “Born Again” by Black Sabbath is playing in the background. Ironic.) and summarize it in succinct and humorous ways. There are gems such as:

Here it is, the entire Jewish religion in a nutshell:

1. Build a just society where the rich and powerful don’t get to treat the rest of us like livestock.

2. Don’t get all too cool for school whenever God tries to tell you something. Be humble. You’re never so holy that you can’t improve a little.

And finally,

3. For gravy’s sake, help each other out once in a while. Don’t you understand? We’re here on Earth to make life better for each other.

Oh, and make no mistake about it, this is not a book for kids. While it definitely pares down all the archaic language and mystery from the scripture, the word choice and topics are very much for adults. No, it’s not raunchy or X-rated, but there are definitely obscenities.

Overall, I thought this book was absolutely hilarious, if not very irreverent. It takes what can be a very cumbersome and daunting text and breaks out each book of the Bible into a few pages of humorous summation.  I laughed out loud all through it. Yes, it’s irreverent, but it’s also accurate in its interpretation. And in that, it’s earned the rating.

Rating: 5 stars (out of 5)

Leave a Reply

