Review: “Do-Ahead Dinners” By James Ramsden


Anova Books was kind enough to supply me, through NetGalley, with this eGalley for the purposes of reading and reviewing it. Although it was provided at no cost to me, I am under no obligation to give a positive review.

This book was absolutely not what I was expecting. And that’s a good thing.

I honestly expected lots of frozen casseroles, lasagnas, crock pot / slow cooker dishes, things like that. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Try the following recipes on for size:

  • Scotch Quail Eggs with Brown Sauce
  • Southern Style Pork Shoulder
  • Neck Of Lamb with Roasted Garlic and Flageolet Beans
  • Shallot Tarts with Taleggio and Pine Nuts
  • Honey Roasted Carrots with Za’Atar
  • Exploding Chocolate Pots
  • Sticky Apple Cake with Drunk Currants

You get the idea. Not your average frozen dinner, that’s for sure.

Admittedly, most of these recipes have both make-ahead and final prep components to them, so they aren’t just ones you can take from freezer to oven to table. But the most labor intensive portion of each recipe is done in advance, and that portion is frozen or refrigerated until you need it.

I really enjoyed this book, and it’s made me look at busy weeknight meals differently. I don’t know how often I’ll serve quail eggs, but I will definitely be trying several of the dishes. One thing I would have liked to have seen more of was pictures of the finished dishes, although there certainly wasn’t a dearth of images in the book. Just personal preference, that’s all.

Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

Leave a Reply

