Review: “Melt: The Art Of Macaroni And Cheese” By Stephanie Stiavetti & Garrett McCord


I received a copy of this book via NetGalley, with thanks to Little, Brown & Company for making it available. While I received this book at no cost to myself, I am under no obligation to provide a positive review.

That said, I love macaroni and cheese. The cover of this made me hungry, and I’d just eaten. How could I not like a book about macaroni and cheese when I already have an inclination toward loving such a book? Then again, maybe with high expectations, a book might not be able to meet them.

I must confess I wasn’t sure what to expect with this book. While I’ve cooked some variations of macaroni and cheese, both stove top and as casseroles, I really couldn’t fathom what else might be out there. I honestly expected a basic macaroni and cheese dish, followed by slight variations: different cheeses, different meats, maybe some vegetables, perhaps some panko or other breadcrumbs. Something like that, and that’s all.

Boy, was I ever wrong. Try some of these recipes on for size:

  • Buffalo Mozzarella Caprese Pasta Salad
  • Paneer, Pineapple and Cucumber Pasta Salad
  • Toma Macaroni Egg Rolls With Spicy-Sweet Dipping Sauce
  • Szechuan-Style Udon With Piave And Radicchio
  • Penne With Etorki Cream Sauce And Asparagus
  • Pumpkin Stuffed With Fontina, Italian Sausage And Macaroni

Get the idea?

One thing I really like about the recipes is they are described in such a way as to identify why the various ingredients work together, and not just the pasta and cheese. Additionally, they will offer alternatives for the ingredients, especially if they include a hard-to-find cheese. The directions for the recipes are also very detailed, again, giving a lot of detail as to why each step should be performed the way it’s described.

Another valuable asset of this book is its appendices, where various types of cheeses and pastas are described in detail, noting which ingredients, sauces, cheeses, etc., blend well with them and why.

Overall, I absolutely loved this book. It not only hit a home run with a universal comfort food, it has given me many ideas on how to adapt other recipes based on the ideas I learned here. I definitely am going to get a hardcopy of this book to add to my cookbook collection.

Rating: 5 stars (out of 5)

2 thoughts on “Review: “Melt: The Art Of Macaroni And Cheese” By Stephanie Stiavetti & Garrett McCord

  1. Bert!!!!! What’s up? Haven’t seen you in my inbox in a while!
    I love mac & cheese, too! have you ever had Stouffer’s frozen? Now, don’t turn your nose up. I’m telling you, it’s Prozac on a plate.
    Looking forward to your upcoming reviews! 🙂

    • Yes, things kind of went crazy in February, and I think they’re starting to settle down. 🙂

      I actually like most of the Stouffer’s products, including the macaroni and cheese. Not bad for frozen!

Leave a Reply

